Glow Run 5K

So a few weekends ago now, my friend Kimber and I drove up to Des Moines to run in the Glow Run 5K with my cousin Jer. I sort of planned it as a pre-Hospital Hill race experience, to encourage me and keep me going. It, uhm, did not go as planned. Basically, we ate a huge meal at a German restaurant before the race, drank a ton of beer, got pretty toasted, had to pee super bad during the middle of the race, cut through an alley and ended up reconnecting with the race at the finish line. A well-run race it was not. However, I did run 3.1 miles at home the next day to soothe my guilty conscience.

Here is my photo essay.
IMG_4202

IMG_4203

 

So apparently a liter is kind of big. IMG_4204

IMG_4206

IMG_4207

IMG_4210

 

It took us forever to drink. It was almost painful.

IMG_4211

IMG_4213

IMG_4214

Finally finished.

IMG_4215

The race started at the Science Center. This created many photo ops.
IMG_4216

IMG_4218

IMG_4219

IMG_4220

So, we started to take this photo and it turned out really bad. We decided just to make it a bad photo, in that case.

IMG_4221

Have you ever gotten out your phone to take a pic and you’ve forgotten it’s in the forward facing mode? Yeah, so have I.

IMG_4222

IMG_4223

IMG_4224

IMG_4228

IMG_4230

IMG_4231

IMG_4232

IMG_4236

IMG_4237

There were over 12,000 people there. Tasty.IMG_4239

IMG_4243

My “finishers” medal

IMG_4248

On our detour

IMG_4254

IMG_4255That’s me. A Star.

3 thoughts on “Glow Run 5K

  1. Jerilyn says:

    We might not have actively participated in the run, however I had the best time! So glad you guys came, I’m already preparing for next year!!

  2. Jess says:

    Ok, but what the hell were you doing in the dumpster?

Leave a Reply

