Paleo (Lite)

april

So April was a bust. No point in posting progress today because there was none. I actually gained back 2 pounds so it’s like April never even happened. Ya know what? I am okay with that. Let’s just say April never happened. I am not going to let it discourage me and I am not going to let it keep me from moving forward on this journey. Our Paleo challenge starts TODAY and I am not messing around.

paleo

So here’s how I’m messing around. (Ha). I like the basic structure of paleo, but like anything I need to make it a perfect fit for me. So here are a few things that I am planning to modify:

1.) Legumes are allowed. I love black beans and pinto beans. I think they are a great source of protein and a good meal filler. Peanuts are also technically legumes, but they are such a cheap snack (when unsalted) that I want to keep my options open.
2.) Some dairy. The need for dairy decreases quite a bit when you stop eating processed foods or baking, but I still want the option to have a glass of milk. I am also not going to cut out cheese entirely, but I do want to limit it.
3.) No expensive substitutions. No almond flour here. No coconut aminos. I am on a budget here people. I am going to do lots of shopping at our local farmer’s market, but grass-fed, organic whatsits is not always an option for me. When possible, I will be using the cheap stuff if called for.

So there you have it! I do plan to be quite strict on a few other things. One, just for this month- no alcohol unless it is a special occasion (which this month include a wedding and my husband’s birthday.) When I do drink it, I will do so lightly. Also, no bread, no buns, no pasta, no white potatoes. Lastly, back to the meal plan. My lesson in April was loud and clear-

Fail to plan, plan to fail. 

So we are getting back on track. I have a little over a month left until my 10K race. The weather is nice enough to start biking to work regularly. Kickboxing is now twice a week.

I see good things for May!

lake

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Paleo (Lite)

  1. Emily G says:

    Sounds good! We buy organic milk and eggs and sometimes splurge on meat/cheese but right now we just can’t afford it! I mean technically we could if we wanted to cut out other things, like fun… Keep up the good work Amanda!

  2. Jess says:

    You are doing great! Just think: in April you did not gain weight or set back any of the progress you made!

Leave a Reply

