Lent

I don’t think I was blogging last year at this time, but if I had been, I would have blogged about Lent. As such, I am now blogging about Lent.

I’m not Catholic, nor am I in a Protestant denomination that practices Lent. Last year was the very first year I’d decided to do anything for Lent. It was a great experience and I picked such a good “sacrifice” that I plan to do it again this year, and probably every year for as long as I live. I would like to beef up the spiritual element of my Lent practice though and dwell more on the the Lenten season and its wonderful gifts. Any good recommendations on Lent/Easter devotionals?

Here is my Lent practice:

No new commitments. 

This means:

-No new projects.
-No new clubs.
-No new committees.
-No new challenges.
-No new goals.

Unless it is directly involved with my employment, I won’t take on any new commitments. I’m constantly making new goals. Joining new groups. Taking on new projects. Making a new challenge. Lent is a time to let myself rest. To focus on my spiritual health. To enjoy the practices I’ve started and responsibilities I’ve taken on and people that I’ve already made promises to. I believe that if an opportunity presents itself during the Lenten season, when I’ve promised to God to be grateful for what is, then that is His message to me that the timing is not right.

The entire month of March is during Lent. Because of this, I plan to simply continue with the food resolutions I’ve made in February during the next month as well. (However, I do plan to start baking bread.) I plan to keep following the training schedule I’ve already mapped out. In other words, I plan to sustain.

This is a lesson for me. During our drive home from Kansas City, my husband told me that if he could give me one gift it would be for me to take it easy on myself. To stop taking criticism as a challenge. To answer negativity in my life with a response that brings all the positive in my life front and center. By refusing to pile more on my plate, I’m forced to see what is already there.

To cherish my husband. To perform well at work. To celebrate with my friends. To love my body.

husband

Beginning Wednesday, February 13, 2013 I won’t take on any new commitments. 

9 thoughts on “Lent

  1. I love it! That’s a great idea.
    I guess that means you’re not joining KVMS! (Either that or I successfully talked you out of it!)

  2. Jess says:

    I love the idea of an intentional practice for a period of time, from a secular standpoint. (Was raised Lutheran, Lent wasn’t practiced in the Catholic sense, like the giving up of candy, etc, but encouraged as time for spiritual introspection.)

  3. Jess says:

    ALSO: I LOVE BAKING BREAD
    Let me know when you want to talk about that!

  4. Do you have a bread machine? I’ve had one for probably 15 years and I use it every week. I know someday I’ll have to replace it and I’m sad about that because they don’t make things to last anymore.

    • I don’t have one. I have a handful of what appear to be fairly easy recipes for the oven. I’m eager to try them.

      I wonder if I should let the process stay just slightly inconvenient so that I don’t get too zealous and start baking loaves and loaves of bread that I’ll inevitably eat!

  5. […] week it has been a challenge to follow my commitment to Lent. I have found myself almost-sort-oh-kinda signing up to do more. Thank goodness kickboxing cut a […]

  6. […] talked a bit in length about Lent here and here. Now that it’s over, I want to share how it all […]

Leave a Reply

